011 300 7500 | 0861 CALGRO (225 476)

Board of Directors

Pumla Fundiswa Radebe

CD(SA), BA (Social Sciences)

Mrs Radebe is a Chartered Director and a member of the Institute of Directors Southern Africa. She is a Non-Executive Director of the Institute of Directors and the Chairperson of its Social and Ethics Committee, a member of the Remuneration Committee and Nominations Committee. She is also a Non-Executive Director of Jasco Electronics Holdings Limited and Chairperson of its Social and Ethics Committee and a member of its Audit/Risk Committee. She is the Chairperson of Khuselo Investments and the Managing Executive of Bungane Development Consultants.

Ralph Bruce Patmore
Lead Independent Director


Ralph brings a valuable 10 years’ experience in building materials distribution as former CEO of Iliad, as well as a wealth of industrial manufacturing experience, as a former director of Everite and Group Five. Ralph currently serves as a non-executive director on the boards of ARB Holdings Limited, Mustek Limited, Unicorn Capital Partners Limited and Accentuate Limited.

Dr Mduduzi Edward (Mdu) Gama
Independent Non-Executive Director

PhD (Finance)

Mdu holds a PhD (Finance) degree and various management qualifications from South African, US and UK universities. Mdu is currently CEO of Resultant Finance (Proprietary) Ltd and is a non-executive director of Mustek Limited. He is a founder, director and a significant shareholder of various other companies.

Hatla Ntene
Independent Non-Executive Director

BSc (QS), Dip. Con. Econ, Dip. Civ. Eng, PRQS, PMAQS, Pr.CPM

Hatla obtained his Bachelor of Science (Quantity Surveying) University of Dublin, Diploma in Construction Economics (Bolton Street College of Technology) Republic of Ireland and Diploma in Civil Engineering, Lerotholi Polytechnic.

Hatla is currently Executive Chairman of Mvua Property Partners and Pulaprop. He is a Non-Executive Director of a listed Retail Property Fund Company.

Hatla was previously a Partner in Farrow Laing Ntene, one of the largest Quantity Surveyor firms in South Africa. Hatla was also the Property Executive Manager of Propnet (Property Division of Transnet) for three years.

Venete Jarlene Klein
Independent Non-Executive Director


Venete was appointed as an Independent Non-Executive Director with effect from 1 January 2016. Venete has more than 30 years’ experience as a senior executive in the financial services industry. Amongst her directorships were appointments as executive director of Absa Retail and Business Bank, Ecobank Transnational, and appointments as non-executive director of Post Bank SA, AllPay Consolidated Investment Holdings, Absa Trust, Absa Brokers, National Business Initiative, The Banking Association of South Africa, Ombudsman for Banking Services, Old Mutual Wealth, ACSIS Wealth Managers, The South African Bureau of Standards, Eskom Holdings and the Institute of Directors of South Africa. Venete is currently a Non-Executive Director on the boards of the South African Reserve Bank, DB Schenker and PG Group Holdings. She serves on several Audit and Risk, Social and Ethics and Remuneration Committees of the boards of directors that she serves.

Ben Pierre Malherbe
Non-Executive Director


Ben Pierre began his career as a quantity surveyor. After spending seven years as project manager in the affordable housing market segment, he and his brother joined forces with the Steyn brothers in 2001 to form Calgro M3, specialising in residential development. He was appointed Calgro M3’s COO when the Group was listed in 2007 and took over the function of acting CEO in January 2009 and was appointed as CEO with effect from 11 December 2009. On 28 February 2017, after eight years, he stepped down as CEO but is retained as a Non-Executive Director with major equity ownership.

Willem Jakobus (Wikus) Lategan
Chief Executive Officer


Wikus joined Calgro M3 in 2008 as Financial Director and was subsequently appointed as Group Managing Director with effect from 1 June 2015, responsible for the overall operational activities of the Group. Wikus served as a member of the SAICA National Members on the Business Executive and is also Chairperson of the SAICA Northern Region and Business Council. He has vast experience in business restructuring and management and became CEO effective March 2017.

Frederik Johannes (Derek) Steyn
Executive Director

BSc (QS)

Derek worked as a quantity surveyor for five years at Eskom, after which he became a project manager at Safrich, an established Residential Property Development company specialising in the affordable housing market sector. Calgro was started in 1995 by Derek and his brothers, Deon and Douw. Derek is responsible for all new projects and business opportunities for the Group. He is a specialist in residential developments, land acquisitions as well as project funding.

Willem Adolph (Waldi) Joubert
Financial Director


Waldi was appointed as Financial Director with effect from 1 June 2015. He is a qualified chartered accountant, having completed his articles with PricewaterhouseCoopers, where he gained vast experience in a variety of industries including manufacturing, construction, insurance and fast-moving consumer goods. Waldi joined the Group in January 2012 as Group Financial Manager.

Manda Njongonkulu Nkuhlu
Executive Director

BSc (Honours), MBA

Manda joined Calgro M3 in 2014 having held a number of senior management positions in both the private and public sector. He has been on Group Exco since September 2014, before taking on a larger role as an Executive Director with Board representation from March 2017. Manda was appointed as Managing Director of Calgro M3 Developments, the Residential Development business from September 2017.

Wayne Williams
Executive Director


Wayne joined Calgro M3 in 2012 and was appointed as Executive Director with effect from 1 June 2015. He is a qualified attorney who was in private practice for 20 years, specialising in commercial and corporate law where he obtained extensive experience in commercial transactions and property-related negotiations and acquisitions. Wayne leads all acquisition negotiations and structuring of transactions within the different divisions of the Group and supports the Group legal department with complex legal issues.